Banana baking

When I came home from a weekend with my family last night I found 7 bananas on the kitchen table (2 of them were already used when I took the picture). I am not a big fan of bananas. If it was just for me I wouldn’t buy any at all. But someone else thinks bananas are good food for climbers, so we buy bananas, we carry them up a mountain, forget about them and carry them back home where they usually end up – squashed and ripened – getting wasted. I want to waste as little food as possible and confronted with the amount of overripe bananas last night I decided it’s time to bake.

Banana Walnut Honey Loaf

  • 190 g flour
  • 190 g butter
  • 190 g sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp yoghurt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1 tbsp runny honey
  • a handful of roasted, chopped walnuts

Mix the butter and sugar until fluffy, add the eggs, one at a time. Add the yoghurt, vanilla extraxt and the mashed up bananas. Mix the flour, baking powder and salt in a separate bowl and then add to the wet ingredients, mix until just combined. Fold in the walnuts and bake in a loaf tin at 175°C until done. I am using a fan oven and baked for about an hour, I covered the cake with tin foil after 30 min to stop it from getting to dark.

Blueberry Banana Bread 

  • 200 g sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 bananas
  • 300 g flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 100 g yoghurt
  • 2 handfuls of blueberries

Whisk the eggs and the sugar until the sugar is dissolved. Mash up the bananas and add to the eggs. Mix in the yoghurt. In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking powder and salt. Then add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until just combined. Pour a third of the mixture in a prepared bread tin, then add the blueberries to the rest and pour it all into the tin. Bake at 175°C until done. About 60 min.

Monkey Bars

Right, now I am left with two bananas. The freezer is full so I was looking for something, that will keep a bit longer like some banana cereal bars. I found this inspiring recipe from The Farm Girl and I like the thought of rice crispies, bananas and oats. Maybe a few chocolate chips. And honey. Now that will be good climbers food. The monkey bars will have to wait until tomorrow though.

By the way: did you know that you can tattoo a banana?

Here is a better banana tattoo artist than me.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Banana baking

  1. Wow! I don’t even like bananas (severe understatement), but your walnut honey banana loaf looks sooooo good, it’s making me hungry haha! I’m tempted to make one, even though I wouldn’t eat it haha. Your baking is contagious!

Leave a Reply

