Monkey bars

Banana Baking continued

I made some cereal bars with the two remaining bananas. They are very easy to make and you could have them for breakfast, in your lunch/bento box or just as a treat. I don’t know how long they keep, I am gonna wrap and freeze a few of them, so I can just add them to a bento in the morning. I also like that you can chosse the size of your cereal bars when you make them yourself, I just love miniature versions of dishes.

What I used:

  • 30 g sugar
  • 100 g butter
  • 120 g müsli
  • 60g rice krispies
  • 1tbsp runny honey
  • 2 ripe mashed bananas
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 tbsp flour

Prepare a square cake tin with baking paper. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Melt the butter in a pan and stir in the sugar, wait, stirring occasionally, until the sugar is dissolved. Add the honey and the mashed bananas. In a separate bowl mix the rice krispies, muesli, flour and salt. Add the krispy mix to the melted butter, bit by bit. The mixture shouldn’t be too wet, but still have a gooey consistency (I should have made a picture of that state). Put the mixture in the tin and shape it so it is about 2 cm high and rectangular (my square tin was too big). Bake for about 25 min. The top should be golden, but it should still feel soft when touching. Let cool down completely before cutting.

Instead of muesli you can use normal oats as well. I used a mix of cereal and different seeds. I also covered the bars with some chocolate before cutting them.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

